Upgrade Ubiquiti NVR

The upgrade is a long process overall, so don’t panic too much as the process upgrades the database and the recordings. I created this after poking around the forums, I found LLigetfa advice very useful, so he needs some thanks for “kicking this off”. As ever reboot the device at the end of the process.

SSH into NVR device using putty, use IP of device and port 22

My IP is 10.0.96.23

01.png

If you get this just click yes

02.png

Default login is root

03.png

Password is default ubnt, but I have changed mine during the original setup so I used this.

04.png

You should now get this

05.png

See Comments below for Purging the install

sudo apt-get remove --purge airvision

Next – Download the latest Debian .deb file (at the time of doing this it was 3.0.2) the file name structure is dpkg -i <airVision_Bin_File>

wget http://www.ubnt.com/downloads/unifi-video/release/unifi-video_3.0.2~Debian7_amd64.deb

PLEASE NOTE THE ABOVE LINK MAY CHANGE ACCORDING TO WHICH VERSION IS “THE LATEST” VERSION. at time of writting the latest version is now 3.0.5.

06.png

Next install the package                dpkg -i unifi-video_3.0.2~Debian7_amd64.deb

PLEASE NOTE THE ABOVE COMMAND WILL CHANGE ACORDING TO THE NAME OF THE LATEST VERSION.

This may take a while, so relax doing something else and come back to it.

07.png

Finally after 10-15 minutes (this particular device had a month worth of videos on it)

08.png

Next log into the device as normal – yes I work for a hotel group.

09.png

Again relax while it sorts itself out (took another 10 minutes), eventually you will be allowed to upgrade the cameras. (This is where I panicked on my first upgrade)

10.png

Give it a while and you get the option to upgrade the cameras

11.png

After upgrading my NVR version was still stuck a 2.0, should be 3.2 and no recordings are being made due to what seems to be a lower setting for motion detection, left it again for a while.

12.png

Again I started to panic a little, but then after 20 minutes I started getting recordings. The V2 label on the NVR seems to be a bug.

13.png

Finally check you NVR retention settings, it defaults to 7 days, I need longer.

14.png

Original post

https://community.ubnt.com/t5/UniFi-Video/I-upgraded-my-NVR-Device-this-is-how-I-did-it-hope-this-helps/m-p/819608#M23475

About jamesdwy
huh?

Leave a Reply

